Receive My Sunday PropTech Review ?

Sunday PropTech Review, 21st January 2018

POSTED BY   james
January 21, 2018

The Sunday PropTech Review; 21st January, 2018

Well here you go, a subtle update with a slightly clearer design to my weekly review. Hoping you like it but let me know if you don’t! Either way, I will be making some fine tuning in coming weeks.

One of the things I will be doing is opening up the review to a sponsor (which will include an opportunity to guest edit the review – some of you will remember I offered this in the summer last year which was well received) – if you are interested in knowing more about this let me know

Before I let you digest all the stories, I promised you the Global PropTech Conferences of 2018…..well here you go, an exhaustive list of all the global conferences you should be going to this year.

Happy reading.

EG seem to be really upping the anty on their Podcasts now and they are really worth a listen – two PropTech orientated podcast this week. In this one Emily and Samantha sit down with TomTom to discuss their latest tech update on the Radius Data Exchange. Also listen to the one on the 16th Jan with our friends over in the US (though reaching this way with their Bridge opportunity)

Most Shared: Goodlord appoints LoveFilm founder William Reeve as CEO

After sacking 40 employees, Goodlord’s CEO ‘stepped down’ from his position. In what is clearly a difficult time for Goodlord, already one of PropTech’s most mainstream names, this is another headline-stealing story.

Reeve has been chosen to “bring in more experience to the Senior Management team”, and the accompanying press release once again played down any rumour of difficulty by describing the layoffs were simply part of “shifting focus” in order to bring “exciting new products aimed at supporting agency growth to be rolled out over the next course of the year.”

 The Duke Long Top 25 Under The Radar Companies to Watch

“One thing is for sure, there will be at least one company that will just blow your mind.”

So says Duke, introducing his fascinating list. All of the expected things are in there: blockchain, analytics, AI and so on, but some of the approaches being taken are simply ingenious.

PropTech Figure of the Week:

William Reeve, Goodlord’s new CEO.

Reeve enters the PropTech world amidst a flurry of speculation about his new company’s fortunes. He arrives with a varied C.V, having worked in film, food & beverages, soft furnishings, and online betting, to name a few. I wish him the best of luck in his new role.

 Influencer Quote of the Week:

“Instead of meeting with 20 people to talk to one who’s going to move this year, I can actually put an agent in front of 20 people where every fifth person is going to sell their house.”

– Mike Schneider, co-founder and CEO of First

Are you an ostrich or a chameleon in the PropTech zoo?

How familiar are you with the ‘PropTech zoo?” asks Oli Farago, Co-Founder and Chief Executive of Coyote. And while this article has a pretty WTF, click-batey headline, the content of the article is actually very interesting indeed.

In order to categorise “real estate companies and their attitudes to PropTech“, Oli takes us to the zoo. So, which one are you? An ostrich? Sheep? Caterpillar?

Oli goes on to address the continued reluctance of many property firms towards technology:

“Companies that aren’t already starting to embrace technology should be worried. There is a real risk that even the largest and most successful of them could find themselves in a very different place in the next five to 10 years.”

The 6 Wives of PropTech

What do Henry VIII’s wives and PropTech CEO’s have in common?

Divorced, beheaded, died; divorced, beheaded, died.

My good friend Eddie Holmes thinks there is very important lesson to be learnt from the King. More importantly it is a lighthearted look at the threats to Founders so many lessons to be learned here.

Global PropTech Events 2018

Your wish is my command. So many of you have been requesting this list, so I’m pleased to say it’s finally here, in one shape or another.

It’s a work in progress, so please do get in touch if you know of any events I’ve missed out, or info still needed. It will improve over time, but we’ve already got around 60 events!

How many will you be at? I’ve run out of fingers counting, so I’m sure I’ll see you somewhere!

Introducing the Colliers PropTech Accelerator

Colliers and Techstars have teamed up to create a new accelerator programme based in Toronto.

They have put the call out for “the best entrepreneurs disrupting the PropTech industry”.

The programme will start in Q4 2018 and the applications window opens in February.

Just 10 PropTech startups will be chosen.

Can agents improve fall-through rates with innovation?

I wrote this one, but it’s still worth reading because there are some good contributions from some leading PropTech companies regarding their solutions for the unforgivable fall-through rate of residential sales.

In Q4 2017, 28% of sales fell-through. As 2018 is projected to be a difficult year for agents, with sales and stock levels dropping, these companies could just be the difference between those agents who keep scraping by, and those who truly thrive.

PropTech Events This Week:

1. Tue 23rdEmerging Trends in Real Estate Europe 2018 – Scotland

2. Wed 24th: Outlook 2018: Europe & Spain Investment Briefing

That’s all for now, folks…hoping you like the new format.

I’m off to play football before a hectic week beckons. Catch up soon.

James

You may also like

Sunday PropTech Review; 8th April 2018
April 9, 2018
PropTech News
Sunday PropTech Review; 4th March 2018
March 4, 2018
PropTech News
Sunday PropTech Review; 25th February 2018
February 25, 2018
PropTech News

Post a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *